Inside Track

Iowa State Honors UP for Ongoing Support

Posted November 27, 2013 07:32 AM CDT

Share This!
Email This

In recognition of its relationship with Iowa State University's College of Business Administration, Union Pacific received the Russ and Ann Gerdin Award in a ceremony Nov. 8, in Ames, Iowa.

UP is the first corporation to receive the prestigious award, which historically honors an individual who is not a graduate of the College of Business Administration but has made significant contributions to the institution.

"We're thrilled to present Union Pacific with our Russ and Ann Gerdin Award," said David Spalding, Raisbeck Endowed Dean of the College of Business. "Union Pacific has contributed significantly to our students, faculty, and staff – in so many ways, over so many years. We're thankful for their support of our college and look forward to a productive partnership for many more years."

Union Pacific's involvement at Iowa State extends beyond recruiting activities. The railroad sponsors luncheons that feature railroad technology demonstrations, sponsors case study competitions for marketing students and frequently provides classroom speakers for multiple university colleges. Union Pacific employees are engaged with the Iowa State relationship at all levels, from senior executives who meet with university administrators to strategically expand the relationship to alumni recruiters that develop relationships with a variety of university contacts and students.

"Union Pacific is honored to be recognized for its contributions to the College of Business," said Diane Duren, executive vice president and corporate secretary. "Receiving the Russ and Ann Gerdin Award demonstrates our continued commitment to supporting the college's robust curriculum and talented students."

The Russ and Ann Gerdin Award was established in 2009 to honor contributions from valuable corporate partners or individuals who are not College of Business graduates. The award honors Russ and Ann Gerdin, who made the lead gift for the Gerdin Business Building. Neither attended Iowa State University.

CT: Iowa State 2

Iowa State's David Spalding presents the Russ and Ann Gerdin Award to UP's Diane Duren, executive vice president and corporate secretary.