Short Line Advisory Group

Union Pacific’s Short Line Advisory Group (SLAG) was established for the purpose of providing feedback to Union Pacific from the short line community on issues and opportunities between Union Pacific and it’s Class III connections. SLAG’s membership includes twelve (12) railroad members chosen by the short line community pursuant to these bylaws and the procedures adopted by SLAG. In addition, Union Pacific participants include representatives from Marketing and Sales, Network & Industrial Development, Rail Line Planning, Operating, Finance and Car Management departments.

Short Line Members Company Affiliation Term Expiration Year
Andrea Dobbelmann Progressive Rail 2023
Heather Watson Arkansas-Oklahoma Railroad 2023
Mark Wegner Twin Cities and Western Railroad 2023
Eric Jakubowski Anacostia Rail Holdings 2024
Zach Boehme Watco Companies 2024
David Geraci Genesee & Wyoming 2024
George “Avery” Grimes Patriot Rail 2024
Matthew Cundiff Ironhorse Resources 2025
Trent Weber OmniTRAX 2025
Chad Gutierrez Rio Grande Pacific Corp. 2025
ASLRRA Member    
Chuck Baker ASLRRA  

Organizational Bylaws

Amended August 2023

Article I

Union Pacific Short Line Advisory Group ("SLAG") shall act as liaison between Union Pacific Railroad Company ("UP") and UP's connecting short line railroads, specifically representing UP’s short line community on issues of common interest. SLAG Members will work with

UP in an effort to achieve mutually beneficial relationships between short lines and UP.

Article II

1. SLAG Members:

SLAG shall consist of up to twelve (12) short line members ("SLAG Member(s)"). For short line railroads that are owned or managed by a holding company, only one person representing a commonly owned or managed short line railroad may serve on SLAG at a given time.

UP representatives will serve “as needed” on a project basis and as required for departmental representation. SLAG Meetings will normally include an invited representative from the American Short Line & Regional Railroad Association (“ASLRRA”).

2. SLAG Member Appointments

Annually at the Summer SLAG meeting, current members will nominate individuals for the up-coming SLAG vacancies and provide a listing of candidates to UP’s Senior Director Short Line and Interline.

SLAG members are allowed to nominate outgoing members for reappointment though it is encouraged to identify candidates from currently non-represented short line railroads or holding companies in order to preserve or broaden the perspective brought to the SLAG. The current SLAG members will consider such factors as geographic dispersion, affiliation with holding companies, and smaller company representation. Those nominated individuals must be of leadership level employees or officers of a UP short line connecting railroad or its parent holding company.

The Senior Director Short Line and Interline will consider all nominations as well as other short line representatives for appointment to SLAG. If a candidate(s) are selected and accept the SLAG position, it will be announced to the SLAG before the next SLAG meeting.

SLAG members will serve a three year term beginning with the upcoming calendar year. Each year there will be up to four members completing their three year term and rotating off of SLAG.

3. Resignations and Removals:

A SLAG Member may resign at any time by giving written notice to the Chairperson.

A SLAG Member shall be removed from membership as a SLAG member if he or she has more than two unexcused absences from SLAG meetings during his or her three-year term. A SLAG Member who wants to obtain an excused absence may do so by notifying either the Chairperson or the UP Senior Director of Short Line and Interline.

4. Vacancies:

In the event of vacancies other than annual term limits, these may be filled by recruiting a person who is of a leadership level employee or officer of a UP short line connecting railroad or its parent holding company.

SLAG Members will make recommendations to the Senior Director Short Lines and Interline who will select and announce the replacement. If a newly selected SLAG Member is added to fill a vacancy, the new member will complete the remaining term for the vacant seat they are filling.

5. SLAG Officers:

SLAG officers, who will also serve as SLAG Members, will be the Chairperson and the Secretary. The SLAG officers will be chosen by the SLAG Members at the first SLAG meeting after an election with the concurrence of UP. The officers will continue to serve in their respective capacities until the end of their terms as SLAG Members, until replaced by the selection of a replacement by the other SLAG Members or their resignation from the office. In the event of a vacancy in an officer role, the SLAG Members shall elect a replacement to fill the unexpired term of the position by a simple majority vote.

Article III
Officers' Duties:

1. SLAG Chairperson:

The SLAG Chairperson shall have the general duties of meeting facilitation, supervision and direction of the business and affairs including the nomination process of SLAG Members and officers. The Chairperson and the Senior Director of Short Line and Interline will prioritize, quantify, and qualify the ideas and concerns presented to SLAG Members by the short lines through their respective SLAG Members in preparation for meetings with UP including preparing the agenda in a timely manner (prior to each semi-annual SLAG meeting) and dissemination of the meeting agenda to the SLAG and UP Members. The SLAG Chairperson will interact on an as needed basis with the UP Senior Director Short Line and Interline between meetings as necessary. The SLAG Chairperson shall have the authority to establish standing focus and study groups within the UP short line community and to request the inclusion of UP short line community members in response to the ideas and concerns of the short lines.

2. SLAG Secretary:
The SLAG Secretary shall perform all the duties of the Chairperson in the Chairperson's absence. The Secretary shall be responsible for recording the SLAG meeting minutes. The SLAG Chairperson and the Senior Director of Short Line and Interline will be responsible for reviewing, approving, and distributing the SLAG meeting minutes to the key contacts from the short line railroads within the Short Line Advisory Group.

Article IV
Meeting Schedule:

SLAG shall have a minimum total of two (2) regularly scheduled meetings during the calendar year. SLAG may have any number of other meetings or conference calls as scheduled by the Chairperson and UP.

Article V
Amendments to Bylaws:

Amendments and updates to the Organizational Bylaws will be made at the request of the Chairperson, UP or SLAG Members and will be incorporated by the SLAG Secretary into the Bylaws upon majority approval of the SLAG Members with the concurrence of UP’s Senior Director Short Line and Interline.